Humility Police

What good is it for me to offer a sincere word of encouragement if you start acting like I’ve spilled something on you?

Imagine a young baseball player stepping up to the plate. It’s the bottom of the 9th and his team is down by 2 points. The bases are loaded. As the pitch is delivered, the bat makes solid contact with the ball. It soars over the fence for the game saving grand slam. After his lap around the bases, his team mates hoist him up on their shoulders in celebration. But the celebration is interrupted when a father yells out from the stands

“I’m the one that bought his cleats.”

“I’m the one who brought him down here.”

“I’m the one who houses and feeds him.”

We would have a pretty low opinion of such a man wouldn’t we? I mean – what a jerk!

Sometimes I wonder if Christians think our Heavenly Father is going to react just like that. Have you ever noticed that when someone is given a sincere and unsolicited compliment, they immediately start deflecting the praise to God. It’s as if God is going to make a scene just like the narcissistic father.

Or maybe that’s not it.

Maybe they think that if they don’t refuse to accept any credit for their good deed, the Humility Police will write them a citation for pride.

Let me be clear. Pride is a hindrance in our walk with God. The bible clearly says so.

Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall. Proverbs 16:18 (NIV)

I burst into flames watching football players showboating in the end zone after a touchdown. They wouldn’t do that if I were the coach. I’m with Bear Bryant. After you score a touchdown, try to act like it’s not the first time you’ve ever done that, find the nearest referee, hand him the ball, and make your way to the sideline.

Aren’t we instructed to be an encouragement to one another? What good is it for me to offer a sincere word of encouragement if you start acting like I’ve spilled something on you?

When offered a sincere and unsolicited compliment – it’s OK to respond with a sincere “Thank you”. If the Humility Police show up, tell them they have no authority over this matter.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

 

 

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

2 thoughts on “Humility Police”

  1. As someone who has sung in worship services many times I have wrestled every single time with this issue. The thing is, I don’t WANT the compliment. I really don’t. What I want is for God to get the glory. Sometimes, it is more convenient to say a simple “thank you”. Or, “I’m glad it blessed you.” To say, “To God be all the glory” or “Soli Deo Gloria” sounds hyper-pious and … to some, ridiculous. But, that’s truly what I’d like to say in response…every, single time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

