Motorcycle Ministry – Soul Patrol

Wouldn’t it be great if instead of pursuing others and chasing them down, people just came to us? GET A MOTORCYLCE!!!!!

I really miss my motorcycle.

I have never seen a more effective ministry tool. It’s funny how we spare no expense and work hard to invite ourselves into the lives of others so that we can witness to them

  • Special Events at church
  • Special Programs at church
  • Movies at church
  • High Profile Guest speakers at church
  • Outdoor events sponsored by the church
  • Disaster Relief
  • Clothing Closets
  • etc

And these are all great! But the common denominator is that we are trying to gain access into the lives of others and therefore earn the right to share our story.

Wouldn’t it be great if instead of pursuing others and chasing them down, people just came to us?

GET A MOTORCYLCE!!!!!

I’ve never seen anything like it. I noticed at every stop, it seems that someone would approach me and make a comment on my motorcycle. Honestly, it felt good! After all, they were probably envious!

Once I got over my flesh and pride, I began to use my motorcycle as an intentional ministry tool. Soul Patrol if you will. You see, if you stop for a bathroom break or coffee in your car, after your anonymous purchase, you’re back on the road sipping your latte – never having spoken to anybody (at least not in any significant sense)

After 11pm after everyone had settled down to bed, I would strike out on my motorcycle. Starting in Tallahassee FL, then to Thomasville GA, onward to Dothan AL, then down to Panama City FL. Along the way, I would stop at a convenience store for a cup of coffee. I would try to pick a location that was well lit and in an area of town that seemed – well, safe! Invariably, someone would approach me an make a comment on my motorcycle. Time after time I had he opportunity to share my faith. It was easy – and fun! I would usually get home around 4am feeling refreshed. I was so amped up I only needed a couple of hours of sleep.

FRATERNITY

There’s something you should know about a motorcyclists. They are a fraternity. That’s not gender specific, but the motorcycle world is dominated by men. The initiation is simply owning a motorcycle. There’s no club to join. No fees. No membership card. Yet I assure you, you have joined a fraternity.

Driving down the road, motorcyclists will wave to each other. No, they don’t know each other, they just show courtesy because, well… just because!

If you’re on a motorcycle and need to use the phone, that means stopping. Time and time again I would pull over to the side of the road to use my phone. Frequently another motorcyclist would stop and ask if I needed any help – even if it meant turning around!

Shouldn’t we as a church family be more like that? After all, what bonds us together is a little more significant than shiny chrome and a hot motor. I know, it’s the world we live in. You never know what kind of ambush you’d be walking in to. Yet, that doesn’t stop motorcyclists! We’re missing something.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

 

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Leave a Reply

