What To Do In Case You Lose

After encountering a loss, I never want it to be said by any player on my team that they learned how to lose from Coach Prasek.

I don’t have a lot of respect for baseball, but I do have a lot of respect for a couple in our church who volunteer countless hours coaching a team of little leaguer’s. Why do I not like baseball?

  • There’s no ambulance standing by during a game. It’s just not dangerous enough.
  • There’s no clock. That’s not real life.
  • etc

There’s more. In fact, George Carlin did an excellent video that I truly believe my talking points somehow got to him. I’ll post at at the bottom of this blog (don’t worry, it’s clean).

Anyway, during my conversation with this couple in our church, the wife brought up two strategies. One in case of a win. The other in case of a loss.

I was taken back. I asked her why on earth was she making plans about what to do if they lost! She was sincerely perplexed by my posture. She replied “But what if we lose?”.

Here’s my take:

Never make plans on what to do in case you lose. If you lose, there are legions of experienced experts you can consult on the subject and they tend to offer free advice.

Another incident.

After a football game that we had lost, I was gathering up the gear on the sideline. A well intentioned mother approached me and tried to console me – she could tell that I was not happy. She said something to the effect that it’s good that the boys lose now and then. After all, you’re not going to win every battle in life and they needed to learn how to lose.

The gear I was holding dropped to the ground with a thud. I addressed this well meaning mother and told her she was right – the boys would surely encounter losses in life. In fact, I should show more compassion and help the other team learn how to lose. My job is to make sure that any player on my team that encounters a loss never says that they learned how to lose from Coach Prasek.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Leave a Reply

