Church Charges My Batteries

I’m obsessive on keeping batteries charged. My phone stays plugged in at my desk. Same thing in my car. Waiting until a battery is weak to charge it is a recipe for failure.

At football practice, I’m always observing how players act during water break. It tells me a lot about their character. It seems that the ones that need water the least make their way to the front of the line – and take forever! Then I notice the ones still in line objecting and trying to hurry the one drinking – they’ve become impatient. Then I notice the strong ones. They are the ones that need the water the most, but they patiently wait for the less mature ones to go first – that’s leadership!

After everyone has had water, I watch as we take a 10 minute break. The less mature ones frolic around. Amazing – they didn’t seem to have that much energy during practice. Some complain or indulge in self pity – talking about how hard (and unreasonable) practice is. Remember that group that waited patiently in line for water? They’re the ones that use the break time to refresh themselves to maximize their performance once practice resumes – those are the leaders.

I agree with coach Bear Bryant’s description of football.

“80,000 people who very much need exercise watching 22 people who very much need rest.”

Coach Vince Lombardi says is this way:

“I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle – victorious.”

 

Most people think working out makes you stronger. Not exactly. You get weaker during the workout. It’s when you rest your body rebuild itself to adapt to the demands of the workout. It’s a miracle. Your body repairs itself stronger. Did you know a broken bone heals back stronger?

I’m kinda obsessive on keeping batteries charged. My phone stays plugged in at my desk. I want to keep it topped off. Same thing in my car. I don’t wait until the battery is weak to charge it. That’s a recipe for failure – a disaster waiting to happen.

From time to time I will hear someone claim that they go to church to “recharge their batteries”. Hmmmmmm – good! I guess… maybe. Let’s think about it.

The purpose of a battery is to be discharged – not charged. If a battery is fully charged, then it’s doing no work. I agree with the notion that church charges our spiritual batteries. My question is – how’s your spiritual battery Monday? Tuesday? I mean really, if we were taking our ministry seriously, could we wait an entire week to recharge our spiritual batteries?

Another thought:

Church does not have a monopoly on spiritual battery charging. Devotional time, prayer, fellowship with other believers – all refresh our spiritual batteries.

Are you always walking around with your spiritual charge cord out, looking to “plug in”? Well, good for you! It feels good doesn’t it? Well, here’s a challenge for you. When are you gonna quit riding the wagon and start pulling it? Strengthen yourself spiritually so that you can charge someone else’s battery – that’s supercharged!

As I record these thoughts, Easter is just around the corner. Across the land, churches will swell with attendance. I’m always glad to see folks come for the annual charging of their spiritual batteries. Given my estimation of the intensity of their spiritual walk, I guess once a year is good enough for them.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

1 thought on “Church Charges My Batteries”

Leave a Reply

