Mind Over Matter

Competition brings out the best in us – and the worst. The intensity strips us down to our core – what we’re really made of.

We’ve all heard it. We’ve all said it. It’s testimony to the triumph of the human spirit. We clinch our fists, grit our teeth, bow our chests, and get it done.

You didn’t need to hear that. I’d like to offer you something different, something more – not just some worn out pep talk using that tired cliche.

I remember being in the coaches office. Several of the assistant coaches were there. The head coach informed us that we would NOT be getting last weeks game film of our upcoming opponent.

There’s an unwritten, but well understood code of cooperation among coaches. We trade game films. That’s right, after we’ve reviewed our game film, we send it to the team who will be playing the opponent we just beat last week so they can see how we beat them. It’s an important tradition because it underscores the idea that even though we may be opponents THIS WEEK – we’re all have a high degree of mutual respect for the game – and each other. When it’s all said and done, we’re striving to be better – not just in football, but in character and in LIFE.

So, the coaches room was silent. All eyes were fixed on the head coach. What are we going to do without the game film? We NEED it! The head coach never lost his composure. He leaned back in his chair, locked his hands behind his head and assured us:

“It’s mind over matter. I don’t mind because they don’t matter.”

Although it sounds like it smacks of arrogance and pride, you’d have to know my coach. There’s a deep lesson in there that I have cherished and used for a lifetime. I want to share it with you today.

Competition brings out the best in us – and the worst. The intensity strips us down to our core – what we’re really made of.

It’s campaign season. That’s a competition. It’s going to bring out the best in some, the worst in others. For those of us who are political activists on social media, the competition is really heating up. Every day, all day, I’m getting accosted by trolls with off topic and toxic remarks. I don’t reply. I don’t block them. Why?

“It’s mind over matter. I don’t mind because they don’t matter.”

After all, even if seems like it, they don’t represent the vast majority of the players on the other team. They are the weak ones. They’ve given in to their flesh. They can’t influence me or change my convictions. They’re wasting their time. I’ll be damned if I’m going to waste my time and get down on their level. I’m going to execute my game plan in support of my candidate. I refuse to be distracted. I refuse to allow them to set my agenda and keep me busy all day and night servicing their toxic remarks. It’s hard to get a train moving. It’s also hard to stop it once it gets going. I’m not stopping the train to silence the barking dogs.

I intend to win. After we’ve won, the stakes get higher – our next battle will be a bigger and stronger opponent. Without the help of our former opponents – we will lose. Those trolls – they are not going to be there to help. They’re not going to come alongside and be team players – they’re going to remain malcontents. They’re going to QUIT and blame others – specifically us. But the others are going to look toward us for leadership. That’s who I’m interested in. I’m about earning their respect now – by showing respect. We can’t enlist and recruit the help of the vast majority of our former opponents is we characterize ourselves as toxic. At the end of the day, there’s only going to be ONE nominee. After that, it seems certain that there will be legions of people who DID NOT vote for whoever the nominee is. If our TEAM is going to win, it’s going to require teamwork. That means we are going to need the help of others who were once on another team. Let’s be leaders. Let’s make sure the heat of battle brings out the best – not worst – in us so that when the nominee is decided, the others will be willing to join us in our quest for victory. We’re all Americans. That’s what makes us exceptional


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

One thought on “Mind Over Matter”

  1. “I’m not stopping the train to silence the barking dogs.” My favorite line! This is very true, especially in a presidential primary. We are all going to need each other, in order to elect a Republican POTUS. It’s poor battle strategy to tear each other to shreds in the name of being cute or clever. It’s a poor use of our precious time. It’s also a poor example of a Christian.

    Like

Leave a Reply

