Substitute Sunday School Teacher Ministry

It’s not an official position on our church’s org chart – I invented it.

I serve as an intentional substitute Sunday School teacher at my church. It was not an official position on our church’s org chart – I invented it.

Why?

Well, I was never asked to serve on the “first string” team of Sunday School teachers, so I thought I’d try to work my way up and earn one of the coveted slots!

If I were offered the opportunity to teach a class today, I would probably turn it down. It would be a demotion as far as I’m concerned.

I find it odd that church’s haven’t figured this out. It’s not a matter of if, it’s a matter of when a Sunday School teacher is going to need a substitute – sometimes with little or no notice. Vacations, sickness, car problems – you name it – sooner or later, a Sunday School teacher is going to need a substitute. Yet instead of meeting the reality head on, church’s leave it to the teacher to find their own replacement. I guess they stick their heads in the sand and figure it’s not their problem. But it is! In many cases, the absent teacher merely calls the church office and informs them of their absence. Oddly, that’s the best case scenario. Sometimes, the class assembles and there simply is no teacher.

Nobody wins.

But it doesn’t have to be that way.

First of all, teachers should be recruiting their own replacements. I’ve never seen that happen. I’m afraid many of them do not want to be replaced. They hang on with bloody fingers and white knuckles to their coveted positions. Why on earth would they want to recruit and train their competition?

Yet, it’s a no brainer that we will need substitute Sunday School teachers. Instead of ignoring the need, wouldn’t it make sense to meet it head on? It goes beyond meeting an obvious need. It’s a vibrant ministry opportunity that all churches should embrace. The list of benefits is a long one:

  • Meet the need of providing for absent teachers
  • Development of future leaders
  • Qualitative programming improvement. A prepared teacher is better than a last minute effort to just press someone into service.
  • If gives the class some much needed variety

Having served as an intentional substitute Sunday School teacher, I can testify that it has been a wonderful experience where everybody wins. As much as I love my class, I like meeting new people. My church office never has to worry about the last minute crisis of a class without a teacher. It has helped me in my spiritual walk. After all, I have to study every weeks Sunday School lesson since I may have to teach it.

If you’re already a Sunday School teacher, I challenge you to begin recruiting and training your own replacement – and let them teach from time to time even when you’re not absent. Isn’t that called “making disciples? If you’re not a teacher, just put the word out that you’re prepared to teach a class at a moments notice. Call the church office and let them know too. Suggest that the church office get a rubber stamp to label the literature with your name and number in case they need a substitute.

You’ll get calls! One last thing. Remember, you could be called upon with no notice to teach a class – you will need to be prepared!


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

 

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

1 thought on “Substitute Sunday School Teacher Ministry”

  1. Literally, as I am listening to your video, I get a text from a dear neighbor’s husband because his wife is sick and they have three small children, he was wondering if there are any babysitters available in my home today, (since we have 6 daughters!), none of the older ones are free, and their regular sitter is unavailable, so I jumped in as a SECOND STRING sitter and will be headed over there shortly. Thanks for the encouragement! Our family motto is, “Each one teaches one after being taught by one”. We believe we should always be training up our replacements. Even in the babysitting world. Thank you for this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

