Practice Makes Perfect

As we go through life, we build opinions. These opinions are abstracted and developed into deeply held beliefs, worldviews, and faith.

I remember as a 14 year old gazing with amazement at the center spread ad of a motorcycle magazine. It was a huge, beautiful, powerful, elegant machine. That picture stuck in my mind for over 40 years. I’ll never forget the day mine it arrived at the dealership. A childhood dream come true. But I couldn’t drive it home. I took a friend with me who had a motorcycle endorsement on his Florida drivers license.

I enrolled in the next available motorcycle safety class to get my certification. It was agonizing. The class was held over 3 weekends. And after all, I had driven dirt bikes as a teen ager. I had hundreds, if not thousands, of hours of experience operating a motorcycle. Heck, I even raced in a few dirt bike events. What the heck was I doing here with these females (yes, half the class was female) who didn’t even know how to operate a clutch? Why couldn’t I just take the written test and get this over with?

As it turned out, I needed that class more than those who had never ridden a motorcycle before. Yes, those girls had to spend a little time learning how to operate a clutch BUT they didn’t have to break any bad habits. I thought I knew everything. Well, I did know a lot but a lot of  what I knew was wrong!

So the idea that “practice makes perfect” is true only in the sense that the practice is perfect.

As we go through life, we build opinions. These opinions are abstracted and developed into deeply held beliefs, worldviews, and faith.

Do you know anyone who has built their faith (or lack thereof) on self taught opinions or smorgasbord picking and choosing? Imagine their assessment of you as you share the Gospel with them. They might see you the same way I saw those female class mates. Pray that in the end, they will see the folly, and danger, of their self reliant and errant experience and be open minded receive the Gospel message – even from someone they may feel is inferior.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship as we enjoy videos at PJNET’s live Chat Room where we hold live Twitter rallies six nights per week, but we’re open 24/7. You’ll see uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the link to “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Leave a Reply

