Bargaining With God Part 1

Do We Forget About God Until We Need Him?

So often we turn to God in times of trouble. After all:

  • God is all powerful.
  • God knows everything.
  • God loves us.

Therefore He  can “fix” our problem. The bible is full of examples of God’s intervention on behalf of those He loves. So, why shouldn’t we go to God with our problems?

Of course we should. The bible instructs us to bring our worries to God (I Peter 5: 7 – Google it). But before we do, there’s something we should consider.

This is the first in a four part series that is inspired by the account of Gideon and the fleece found in Judges chapter 6. You can Google it, but let’s do a quick review:

Basically God was calling Gideon to lead the Israelites into battle to free them from the oppression of the powerful Midianites that had conquered them and were ravishing their crops and livestock . Gideon resisted and went through numerous iterations of evasive and stalling tactics. Finally Gideon presented God with a challenge. He left a wool fleece outside overnight and challenged God to cause the dew to soak it as a sign. God proved Himself. Morning came and the fleece was drenched! Yet the shelf life of the proof was short indeed. Gideon now insisted that God provide another sign, so a new challenge was presented. Gideon left the fleece out a second night and challenged God to give him another sign. If the fleece was dry, then he’d be convinced! Gideon arose the next morning and the fleece was in fact dry! But God really spike the ball this time. Not only was the fleece dry – the surrounding ground was soaked with dew!

Do We Forget About God Until We Need Him?

It seems like every time my phone rings, someone needs something from me. They always start the conversation with pleasantries:

  • What have you been up to lately?
  • How’s the family?
  • How’s the weather there?

Really? They called because they were curious about the circumstances in my life? Hardly. They’re trying to cushion the brutal reality that the only reason they’re calling is because they need something. Once they’re satisfied that they’ve buttered me up with their concern over the circumstances in my life, they now think they’ve earned the right to have me reciprocate with something for them. This is usually preceded with a set up to transition to the real purpose of the call.

It goes something like this: “I don’t want to impose on you, BUT…”. Then they proceed to impose on me! So often when you hear the word “BUT”, you can basically ignore everything that preceded it because everything that follows it is nearly certain to negate it.

Do you have friends, family members, and associates like that? You know, the kind that only call you when they need something? Do you think highly of them because of it?

Then why do we treat God like that?!

Here’s a challenge – just for practice. Let’s make a difference in somebody’s world – and our own. Pick up the telephone and call a friend, family member, or associate. When they answer, open the conversation with something like:

“I don’t need anything. You were on my mind, so I thought I’d give you a call.”

Then proceed with the usual pleasantries.

You never know – you could be interrupting their prayer life – by being the answer to it!

I remember one day I was driving down the road. I was going through a very rough time in my life. I’m not talking about a bump or pothole in the road. I wouldn’t send my worst enemy to the hell I was going through. I was uncharacteristically angry – very angry. I was hurt. I cried out to God. The conversation went like this:

Me: (demandingly) “Where are you God?”

God: “I’ve been right here all along, but you never called.”

Me: (defiantly) “YOU NEVER CALLED ME!”.

My argument with God was interrupted at that point. My cell phone rang. Without even knowing who was calling (this was when cell phones were not exactly smart phones) I rudely  answered the phone with “Now’s not a good time”. Yes, I was very angry.

It was a friend. He replied:

“I don’t need anything. You were on my mind, so I thought I’d give you a call.”

My world was forever changed. I’m now paying that forward with a challenge to you to pick up the phone and call or text somebody. At the very least, it will blow their mind.

Oh, remember the thing about Gideon and the fleece? If I were God, that fleece would have been GONE the next morning!


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Please subscribe to my YouTube channel

Join our fellowship at our live Chat Room. We’re open 24/7. You’ll see other uplifting and inspiring videos (kinda like this one) from fellow believers and you’ll meet some wonderful Brothers and Sisters in Christ. You can get there by going to http://PatriotJournalist.com and find the links under “Live Hashtag Rallies”

Cover

 

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

1 thought on “Bargaining With God Part 1”

Leave a Reply

