If the World Could Deliver

Frankly, if the world could have delivered on even half it’s promises, I’d still be living for the world.

The spirit of mammon. Looking back, I really fell for it. Even though I was a Christian, I really didn’t get it. My career was racing from one zenith of success to another. I was working hard, smart, and long. I was focused on success. 80 to 100 hours per week was not uncommon. I was driving 80,000 miles per year. That’s a full time job just driving to the job sites – not counting any work once I got there. But the money was pouring in and I thought of myself as a good husband and good provider because of it. I never dawned upon me that I was away from home and not being much of a husband to my wife. In fact, when my wife would express concern about the long hours I was putting in, I would rebuke her for her ingratitude. “Look at the driveway” I would tell her as I pointed to the corvette, camper, bass boat, etc.

I was a fool.

In my foolishness, I was trying, but I was deceived. When we would go on our annual cruise to the Caribbean, I would make lavish jewelry purchases. Mostly for my wife to wear as “trophies” that attested to the success of her husband, but also for myself for similarly vain reasons. My bar tab for the 7 night cruise would be in the hundreds, sometimes over a thousand, of dollars. I was living it up!

But soon, the cruises and jewelry weren’t enough. I needed a bass boat. It was a 19 foot Cajun (that’s Mastercraft to you boat experts out there) with a 150 horsepower Mercury. It was beautiful and lightning fast.

But soon the bass boat wasn’t enough. I remember buying a corvette. As we were signing the paperwork, the salesman asked about lien holder information. I arrogantly informed him that I was not borrowing any money to make the purchase.

But soon the corvette wasn’t enough. What I needed was a camper. We bought a beautiful 36 foot 5th wheel – top of the line.I made it a point to tell the salesman that I was not borrowing any money to make the purchase.

And of course you need a truck to pull it. I bought a Ford F-350 1 ton dually. I paid way more for it than I paid for the corvette. Again, at closing I informed the salesman that no money was being borrowed for the purchase.

I was making plans to buy an airplane. Thankfully, I changed my mind. Not because I couldn’t afford it – it simply changed my mind.

Today all of the toys are gone. I was a fool.

Frankly, if the world could have delivered on even half it’s promises that those “things” would make me happy, I’d still be living for the world. There’s a difference between success and significance. I had to learn the hard way. I wouldn’t send my worst enemy down the road I’ve traveled.

I hope my testimony helps you find the real value in life. In your pursuit of happiness, I hope you’ll pause to consider what they will say about you at your funeral. It’s probably not going to have anything to do with the toys you bought.


That’s what I think. I’m interested in your thoughts. There’s lots of ways to hit me up so let me hear from you.

You can leave your comments below.

Connect with me on Twitter @DataGenesis

I am part of a team of bloggers that use our blogs to create a short devotional video. These inspirational, uplifting, and empowering videos are added to our YouTube playlist that is shown throughout the day in our live chat room. If you’d be interested in joining our team of Christian bloggers, I’d like to hear from you. You can find the link to join our fellowship here

Cover

 

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

1 thought on “If the World Could Deliver”

  1. Coach, your testimony inspires and your faith shines through your work by enabling the ministries of others and to bringing souls closer to God.

    In his Gospel, Mark wrote in chapter 8 verse 36, “For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? ” Charles Spurgeon said, “To be a soul winner is the happiest thing in the world. And with every soul you bring to Jesus Christ, you seem to get a new heaven here upon earth.”

    So what does it profit a man to travel and tour the whole world only to end up travelling to hell at death? And what does it profit a man to live and die in sin and not know Jesus, not guaranteeing a place for himself in eternity with Jesus!

    No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be loyal to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon. (Matthew 6:24)

    The good news is this. No matter how weak a person’s faith, God has the power to strengthen them. God, who spoke a universe into existence, who raised Lazarus from the dead, who brought down Jericho’s walls—He can and will strengthen a person’s faith.

    Lead a man so that he is close enough to the Holy Spirit, and the spirit of conviction will close the deal for God, through Christ our Lord. It is our job as Christians to lead men to God and share the Good News.

    Amen brother, thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

