I Don’t Need That Kind of Help

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”

And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

As a coach, what if I approached a player and asked him to serve as team captain and got a response like:

  • “I’ll do it until you can find someone else.”
  • “I’m not a leader – I’m just the facilitator.”
  • “let me pray (think) about it.”
  • “I’m not qualified.”

 

Matthew 8:21-22 (ESV)

21 Another of the disciples said to him, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.” 22 And Jesus said to him, “Follow me, and leave the dead to bury their own dead.”

Mark 2:14 (NIV)

14 As he walked along, he saw Levi son of Alphaeus sitting at the tax collector’s booth. “Follow me,” Jesus told him, and Levi got up and followed him.

 

James 3:1 (NIV)

 Not many of you should become teachers, my fellow believers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.

Exodus 3

11 But Moses said to God, “Who am I that I should go to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt?”

13 Moses said to God, “Suppose I go to the Israelites and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they ask me, ‘What is his name?’ Then what shall I tell them?”

Exodus 4

Moses answered, “What if they do not believe me or listen to me and say, ‘The Lord did not appear to you’?”

10 Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord. I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant. I am slow of speech and tongue.”

13 But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.”


Isaiah 6:8 (NIV)

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”

And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Author: Mark Prasek

Christian Technologist. Find me on Twitter @DataGenesis

Leave a Reply

